How to Sew a Slip Stitch

Hello! I hope you’re having a great weekend. I’m just under two weeks out from coming home from China and am going through major sewing withdrawals. I’ve even thought about finding some sewing supplies here in Shanghai to tide me over until I get back! But I’ll be keeping this blog updated almost every day with important things to know before you sew until we can start sewing together.

So I was thinking back on some of the earlier videos and tips that I’d shared, and I can’t believe I forgot to post this sooner!

This stitch is often called a “blind hem,” but I use it for many things other than hems so I prefer to call it a slip stitch. Here is a video demonstrating how to use it to secure a hem, but that is only one of the many functions of this stitch.

This stitch can also be used to finish plush objects and pillows or enclose seams that can’t be sewn with a machine because they aren’t meant to be seen when the garment is finished. In the future you’ll be learning many of these other functions, but here is just an introduction to the stitch so you can start mastering the art of catching one thread of your fabric at a time.

Learni.st – Learn how to sew starting from step one
Pinterest & Twitter – Follow for tips, ideas, and more
Etsy – Shop Sew Me Your Stuff

Leave a comment