Video: Notions 101

Hello sew-ers! I have to say, it’s a little hard to think of a word to use to describe people who love to sew because I don’t want to call you sewers! We’ll have to come up with something.

The other day here in Shanghai I went to a place called the fabric market to pick up some tailor-made jackets I ordered. The place is full of different vendors trying to get you to buy their scarves or let them make you an outfit, and the walls are lined with fabric bolts and sewing notions. It makes me so homesick! I can’t wait until I get home next weekend and can start posting my own projects and videos to help you learn to sew.

Last week I shared lists of what I recommend that you buy on your first visit and second visit to the fabric store. The other day I came across this video and wanted to share it with you as well. It touches on some of the notions I recommended before and goes more in-depth with your fabric marking options.

You can see when she demonstrates marking fabric with chalk how the chalk pulls on the fabric at first and leaves a thick line. She demonstrates using tracing paper, but personally I haven’t tried tracing paper yet because my mother claimed it doesn’t work when I asked her about it. It looks like it works pretty well in this video. Maybe I can try it next time I go to the fabric store!

Happy sewing!

Learni.st – Learn how to sew starting from step one
Pinterest & Twitter – Follow for tips, ideas, and more
Etsy – Shop Sew Me Your Stuff

Leave a Reply

